What time does the ‘Super Flower Blood Moon’ eclipse begin?


This month’s full moon — known as the Flower Moon — will undergo a total eclipse early on Wednesday morning (May 26), when it becomes completely immersed for a short while in Earth’s shadow. But it also so happens that at that same time our natural satellite will be near that point in its orbit closest to Earth, which means we’ll see a “supermoon” as well. 

The lunar eclipse, which will be visible from Southeast Asia, Australia, New Zealand, the Pacific and the western part of the Americas, begins Wednesday at 4:47 a.m. EDT (0847 GMT) and will last about five hours from start to finish. The total phase of the eclipse, when the moon is covered in Earth’s blood-red shadow, begins at 7:25 a.m. EDT (1125 GMT) and lasts 14 minutes 30 seconds. 





Source link