Battlefield 2042 beta faces ‘Backend server error’ as EA takes down servers


The ongoing Battlefield 2042 beta has undergone scheduled maintenance on console and PC, revoking access to the multiplayer test ahead of its upcoming beta expansion. The two-hour downtime allows Electronic Arts to “perform essential maintenance” before opening to all players at 5 a.m. ET / 10 a.m. BST / 11 a.m. CEST with the full launch.

“Backend server could not be found,” the in-game notification reads. Battlefield 2042 beta players currently face the message when attempting to start the game, a result of the ongoing server maintenance ahead of the open beta. Access to the title is slated to return once its two-hour maintenance window concludes.

The announcement comes via Electronic Arts lead community manager Adam Freeman, outlining maintenance plans before expanding the beta to more players. Battlefield 2042’s beta has only been available in early access up until this point, tied to those with Battlefield 2042 preorders or with active EA Play subscriptions.

Once available, the Battlefield 2042 beta provides a glimpse into its expanded multiplayer offerings, including the new Orbital map and the returning Conquest game mode. The expansive space center supports up to 128 players on the latest consoles and PC, coupled with intense set pieces like a rocket launch and destructive tornado.

VPN Deals: Lifetime license for $16, monthly plans at $1 & more

However, as with any pre-release test, the Battlefield beta comes with various bugs and launch issues. We continue to round up the latest in one place, while our full beta schedule outlines the latest on start times and when you can play the beta.





Source link