Once Human PSA: You can’t delete your character or server transfer


Update 7/9/2024 at 5:50 p.m. PT / 8:50 p.m. ET: Responding to feedback on launch day, Once Human developer Starry Studio has unlocked the ability for players to create multiple characters. This gives fans who want to remake their character or play on a different server the ability to do so, though it appears that characters still can’t be deleted. The studio noted in a post on the Once Human Discord server that it “initially closed multi-character creation because the experience wasn’t up to snuff,” but decided to bring it to the game as soon as possible after this feature’s absence at launch was widely criticized.

What you need to know

  • Once Human is a new multiplayer survival game from developer Starry Studio and publisher NetEase in which players join a server to play on and create their own character.
  • Once Human is now out on Windows PC, and players have quickly realized that there’s currently no way to delete your character if you want to start over or transfer to a different server if you join the wrong one by accident.
  • Coupled with the game’s lack of support for multiple characters right now, these restrictions effectively force you to play on the server you initially chose and with the character you first made, as there’s no way to go back or make any changes.
  • Luckily, multiple characters per account is coming in August, which is one way you’ll be able to get around these issues. Until then, though, be very careful when choosing a server and making a character.
  • Update: Responding to launch day feedback, Starry Studio has updated Once Human to give players the option to make multiple characters. This gives fans a way to remake characters or play on different servers if they want to.

Original article: After multiple beta tests over the past several months, the highly anticipated survival shooter Once Human is finally here. The game has drawn a huge following with its post-apocalyptic, almost Lovecraftian “weird fiction” theming and its promises of deep mass-multiplayer PvPvE gameplay in a vast open world, to the point where it launched as the fourth most-wishlisted game on Steam. As a result, its arrival has the potential to be one of the biggest game releases of the summer.

One thing players are quickly realizing after joining one of Once Human’s servers and creating their characters, though, is that there’s not currently an option in the game to move to a different server or to delete your character if you want to start over. As revealed by the developers earlier today, there’s also currently not support for creating multiple characters at launch.

Put simply, once you choose where to play and who you’re playing as, you’re locked in — and unsurprisingly, that’s frustrating lots of players who chose a different server than their friends did or made a character they decided they’re not happy with. If you haven’t started playing Once Human yet, consider this a warning to take your time in the character creation menu and choose the server you want to play on very, very carefully.

A player approaches a massive “Deviant” monster in Once Human. (Image credit: NetEase)





Source link